University of Melbourne Magazine


  • Professor Gillian Triggs and Marita Cheng

    Two alumnae have been honoured by Women and Leadership Australia, an initiative that supports the presence of women in business and community leadership roles. Professor Gillian Triggs (LLB 1967, PhD 1983, St Hilda’s College, Janet Clarke Hall, International House), the former President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, won the New South Wales Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership, while Marita Cheng (BE, BCS 2014) won the Tasmanian Award for her work as an advocate for women in technology and tech entrepreneur.

    Emeritus Professor Alan Robson AO (BAgrSc 1966) has been inducted into the Royal Agricultural Society of Western Australia Hall of Fame. Professor Robson, a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Western Australia, is recognised internationally for his work on nutrition in plants and soil fertility.

    Anthony Stevens (left) and Louis Strauss (right)

    Chasing Digital is the new book by alumni Anthony Stevens and Louis Strauss, published by Wiley & Sons Book Publishers. It focuses on digital transformation and is targeted to business leaders. Mr Stevens (MCommrclLaw 2005, BCom 1999, BIS 2000) is the ex-Chief Digital Officer of KPMG and now Managing Director of Digital Asset Ventures, while Mr Strauss (BE 2014, MIS 2016) is a digital consultant at Digital Asset Ventures.

    Professor Emeritus Norm Williamson (BVSc 1968, MVSc 1974) has been awarded the American Association of Veterinary Medical College’s Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service. This award is presented by the AAVMC to an individual whose leadership and vision has made a significant contribution to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession.

    Artist Yvette Coppersmith (BFA 2001) was awarded the Archibald Prize 2018 for her work Self-portrait, after George Lambert. The Archibald, awarded annually by the Art Gallery of New South Wales, is Australia’s most prestigious prize for portraiture.

    Professor Joan McMeeken AM (MSc 1988, PhD 2016) is the author of Science in Our Hands: Physiotherapy at the University of Melbourne, 1895-2010, published by the University’s Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences. Based on Professor McMeeken’s PhD thesis, the book explores the history of the profession in Victoria and the role of the University as physiotherapists fought to take control of their education and ensure their professional standing. Professor McMeeken was the Foundation Professor and Head of the School of Physiotherapy from 1991 until 2007. She also served on the Council of Medley Hall for many years, and spent a decade as Chair.

    Joe Brukner

    Scriptwriter Joe Brukner (BA 2012, Ormond College) received the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award 2017 at the International Emmy Awards for his script, Judas. The competition aims to help non-American novice writers under the age of 30 in their television scriptwriting career.

    Dr Helen Gildfind (GDipEd 2005, PGDipCA 2006, PhD 2012) has launched her debut short story collection, The Worry Front. The stories, published by Margaret River Press, deal with worry in its many guises – unease, fear, dread and terror.

    Professor Marcia Devlin (PhD 2007) has been appointed Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President of Victoria University. She served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Quality) at Federation University from 2014 to 2017 and has also held senior positions at RMIT University, the University of Melbourne, Deakin University and Open Universities Australia.

    Sally Capp (BCom, LLB(Hons) 1991) has been elected Lord Mayor of Melbourne, the first woman to hold the post in almost 30 years. She took leave without pay from her position as Victorian executive director of the Property Council of Australia to campaign.

    Judith Bishop

    Interval (UQP) is the second volume of poetry from award-winning Australian poet and author Judith Bishop (BA(Hons) 1993, PhD 2003, Ormond College). It follows the success of her 2007 volume, Event. Ms Bishop’s poems have won numerous awards, including the Peter Porter Poetry Prize (2006, 2011), an American Academy of Poets University Prize (2004) and the Marten Bequest Travelling Scholarship (2002–2004). Event (Salt), was shortlisted for three major awards and won the Anne Elder award (2008).

    Awang Abdul Mutalib (MIntBus 2003) has been appointed Minister of Communications, Brunei Darussalam. His previous positions include Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs (Aug 2016-Jan 2018), Permanent Secretary (Media and Cabinet) at the Prime Minister’s Office (Nov 2015-Aug 2016); Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications (Apr 2013-Nov 2015); Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Prime Minister’s Office and Ministry of Communications, respectively from 2008 to 2013. He also held executive positions in the corporate sector from 2003-2007.

    Artist Caroline Phillips’ latest solo exhibition, there’s something happening here … (extended remix), sought to respond to the current political atmosphere of fear and violence, proposing feminist objects of protection and resistance. The exhibition ran at Boxcopy, Brisbane, in May. Dr Phillips (PGradVisArt 2010, MFA 2012, PhD 2017) has previously exhibited nationally and internationally.

    Professor Warren Bebbington (MMus 1978, Trinity College) is the new chair of the board of design college LCI Melbourne. The college was created 20 years ago as the Australian Academy of Design and is now part of a global 21-campus chain, founded in Canada. Professor Bebbington has held several senior positions in universities, including Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide and Pro Vice- Chancellor (Global Relations) at the University of Melbourne.

    Dr Roy Ponce (MAE 2007, DEd 2016) was presented with the Excellence in Innovation Award at the 2017 Australian Excellence Alumni Awards, held in the Philippines. Dr Ponce founded an after-school care program in the Philippines aimed at increasing literacy and learning experiences for children in underprivileged communities, which has since grown into a number of children-focused activity centres. He is currently Vice President of Research and Extension at the Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology.

    Joanna Weston

    Two Melbourne alumni took home medals in the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. Elena Galiabovitch (BBiomed 2010, DMed 2014) won silver in the Women’s 25m Pistol and bronze in the Women’s 10m Pistol, while Joanna Weston (BCom 2016), pictured, was part of the Australian Diamonds netball team that won silver.